March 28, 2013

  • Motu Proprio

    motu proprio means “on my own action” and is the form of an EDICT by the Pope.

    We might just see one coming real soon, and a big surprise too… within a couple or three months, or sooner!

    How about: “I hereby direct all church property other than the Church building itself be sold, and the liquid funds be given away to the poor.”

    This Pope is capable of something similar, and it wouldn’t surprise me one bit if he does it.  In fact, I would support it 100%.

    okay, if that’s not it, what other one that exercises the Pope’s absolute authority over every facet of church life?  How about the dissolution of all episcopal conferences on the grounds that they are not canonical entities, and therefore not authorized to teach in Christ’s Name?  That would be a good one too…

    Such an action by Pope Francis would not surprise me, in fact, I expect it, and soon too.  But that would only be the first shoe to fall…. What really is Jesus’ Church like in the modern world?  I think that document from the Vatican Council II needs to be re-read if you want to imagine what kind of Church Pope Francis is trying to rebuild.

    I don’t think he will go corporate-style, but it might be some big change he will decree in his first “Motu Proprio.”

    It could be cool. way cool. beyond anything science-fiction. I can dig it, can you?

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *